Menu

Reviews


29 results found, Show results 1 - 25


Gary Donovan about  Gelcoat Pigment | Epoxy Pigment:
Sep 14, 2015
Quick delivery and a very competitive price

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Tim Gray about  NYLON BUBBLE BUSTER:
Sep 12, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I really like working with the folks at FSD. They are always friendly and helpful. In addition, my orders arrive within 2 or 3 business days - even on Saturdays occasionally. Prices are always very reasonable. I'm so glad they ship. I can't find anyone in the Charlotte area that sells the stuff I can get from FSD. Thank you FSD.

As for the bubble busters, I like them a lot. Before I used them, I didn't realize how much air was being left trapped in the resin. Now, there is very little air trapped. In addition, these nylon busters are relatively easy to clean - even when I work them too long, and the resin begins to set up. I find that if the resin is even a little bit soft still, I can use a stiff plastic bristle brush, and it cleans the grooves right out. Swish them in some lacquer thinner or Acetone, and they clean up very nicely. if you get some resin inadvertently dry in between the roller and the support bar, take the screw out of the end, take it apart, and it cleans up very easily. If the resin inadvertently sets up (forget to clean it when cleaning up everything after a batch), all is not lost, as it is nylon, and the stuff will still come off with a little effort. I know, because I've done all of the above at least once. I also have a wire bubble buster, but I like the nylon one much better - mostly because it's so much easier to clean.

Advantages: does a great job and easy to clean.

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Tim Gray about  Premium Polyester Resin :
Sep 12, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I really like working with the folks at FSD. They are always friendly and helpful. In addition, my orders arrive within 2 or 3 business days - even on Saturdays occasionally. Prices are always very reasonable. I'm so glad they ship. I can't find anyone in the Charlotte area that sells the stuff I can get from FSD. Thank you FSD.

As for the polyester Resin, I like the way it works. I like the way it sets up. I like the way it absorbs.
Works better than any other polyester resin I've used, but being fair, until this resin, I've only used the cheap stuff that you get from the auto parts store or Lowe's, etc.

Advantages: I like the way it works. I like the way it sets up. I like the way it absorbs.

Disadvantages: I wish they were local, so I could just pop over and get my supplies when I need them :)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sep 12, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I really like working with the folks at FSD. They are always friendly and helpful. In addition, my orders arrive within 2 or 3 business days - even on Saturdays occasionally. Prices are always very reasonable. I'm so glad they ship. I can't find anyone in the Charlotte area that sells the stuff I can get from FSD. Thank you FSD.

The Duratec high gloss additive is great in both regular gel coat and tooling gel coat. It makes the stuff flow out much better, thins it somewhat, which aids in flowing out, and gives a tack free finish without either wax or PVA. It makes it much easier to sand. I use it every time I use gel coat of any kind now.

Advantages: The Duratec high gloss additive is great in both regular gel coat and tooling gel coat. It makes the stuff flow out much better, thins it somewhat, which aids in flowing out, and gives a tack free finish without either wax or PVA. It makes it much easier to sand. I use it every time I use gel coat of any kind now.

Disadvantages: None.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Tim Gray about  Tooling Gelcoat:
Sep 12, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I really like working with the folks at FSD. They are always friendly and helpful. In addition, my orders arrive within 2 or 3 business days - even on Saturdays occasionally. Prices are always very reasonable. I'm so glad they ship. I can't find anyone in the Charlotte area that sells the stuff I can get from FSD. Thank you FSD.

As for the polyester Resin, I like the way it works. I like the way it sets up.

Advantages: I like the way it works. I like the way it sets up.

Disadvantages: I wish they were local, so I could just pop over and get my supplies when I need them :)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Tim Gray about  Graduated Mixing Pots:
Sep 12, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I really like working with the folks at FSD. They are always friendly and helpful. In addition, my orders arrive within 2 or 3 business days - even on Saturdays occasionally. Prices are always very reasonable. I'm so glad they ship. I can't find anyone in the Charlotte area that sells the stuff I can get from FSD. Thank you FSD.

These aren't just measuring mixing pots, they are calibrated. They have markings for various different ratios from 2:1 to I think as high as 8:1, including multiple ratios, such as 2:1:1. Plus, they have standard measurements - oz, etc.
To boot, they are cheaper than what you'll get at the home improvement store that doesn't even have the ratio measurements. I love these pots.

Advantages: These aren't just measuring mixing pots, they are calibrated. They have markings for various different ratios from 2:1 to I think as high as 8:1, including multiple ratios, such as 2:1:1. Plus, they have standard measurements - oz, etc.
To boot, they are cheaper than what you'll get at the home improvement store that doesn't even have the ratio measurements. I love these pots.

Disadvantages: I wish they were local, so I could just pop over and get my supplies when I need them :)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Richard Kinsman about  E-Bond Epoxy (106-CW 106-C2):
Sep 12, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is good stuff. Coated the bilge during my rebuild and also coated the storage locker at the bow of the boat. Now I am going to coat a few other areas so I bought a 2nd qt kit.
Shipping was quick.

Advantages: It's epoxy so you know it's strong stuff. A couple coats and it covers well.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
john post about  Moonsuit Nylon/Cotton Coveralls:
Sep 12, 2015
This suit breaths better and is tougher than tyvek. This suit should outlast several tyvek suits.

Advantages: Washable, not as hot, and tougher than tyvek.

Disadvantages: I wish it had zippers in the legs to help get in and out of suit more easily. Most of us do not stay suited up except when grinding. Saving time suiting and unsuiting is valuable.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Thomas B about  G100-6 Gel Coat & Resin Cup Gun:
Aug 4, 2015
Best cup gun i have ever used. I have been in the fiberglass industry for quite some time.

Advantages: Fast and easy cleanup
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
David about  FASCO 110 EPOXY GLUE:
Aug 4, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This product is fantastic stuff! I bought a gallon kit for use around the house. Since then, it's become my go-to for super gluing anything. I've used it for joining pieces of wood and creating frames - waterproof sealing, even securing a hinge that had gotten loose from rot.

The sales team was super helpful with other items I purchased, and answered all of my questions.

Advantages: Strong, tough, and durable.
Thick consistency that can be used for vertical surfaces.
Pretty good working time (~40 minutes in hot, hot conditions)

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
David about  Expandable Pour Foam 4lb:
Aug 4, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Wow, this stuff is crazy! The instructions on the bottles were really helpful, and you have to move quick with this foam. I used this to fill some gaps where I was installing a removable cooler in my boat and it expanded hot and FAST. Start out with small amounts when you're filling with it, otherwise it can get out of hand and expand too fast.

The sales team was really helpful, Martin was able to tell me exactly how much foam I needed and even gave me some great tips to make sure I didn't pop my boat in half with foam.

Advantages: Great expansion
Strong foam
VERY FAST

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Martin Roy about  Tooling Gelcoat:
Jul 17, 2015
Good tooling gelcoat

Advantages: Easy to work with.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Ryan Barclay about  USC DURAGLAS:
Apr 10, 2015
Very strong resin, vary hard to sand with fine paper.

Advantages: Very Strong!!

Disadvantages: Hard to sand
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Ryan Barclay about  Wood Flour:
Apr 10, 2015
Very fine powder, great with epoxy. No complaints at all. Also Very Dry
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Ryan Barclay about  RAKA 127 EPOXY RESIN:
Apr 10, 2015
Great resin, cures hard and is very strong.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Thomas Robertson about  Premium Polyester Resin :
Sep 12, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
After using the store bought garbage, this stuff was like working with heaven.

Advantages: Longer working time, great layout and flattening.

Disadvantages: NONE
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
William about  Premium Polyester Resin :
Jun 21, 2014
I purchased several gallons for my boat rebuild. It worked very well! Dried to a rock hard finish. I did not add any wax, but this stuff wan't tacky at all.
Being impatient, I mixed it with large amounts of catalyst, and still had plenty of working time.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (2)
William about  FIBERGLASS MATT 1.5 OUNCE:
Jun 21, 2014
Easiest glass matt that I've ever worked with. Arrived in good shape. Easily cut and/or torn by hand. Be sure to have plenty of resin- it really soaks it up! Provided plenty of thickness to my new deck.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (1)
Jun 21, 2014
Very nice 1708! Arrived clean, without any fraying or tears. Smooth and lies down easily. Cuts cleanly. Mine was flexible and easy to work with. Considering this is the cheapest 1708 I was able to find anywhere, I am very satisfied with the product!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (1)
William about  Aerosil:
Jun 21, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Good product. Produced a easy to use PB when mixed with their poly resin. The bucket I purchased was completely full.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
Cheri Penick about  Gelcoat Pigment | Epoxy Pigment:
Jun 14, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This pigment was great. I am using is with a resin for a pool it gorgeous. The shipment was great quicker than I thought it would be

Advantages: Quick shipment mixes very smooth

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
Jeff Hoskinson about  Plascore Board for Boat Building:
Jun 1, 2014
Been using it and love it, cant beat the price

Advantages: light, strong and low cost

Disadvantages: have to have it shipped or go and pick it up 4 states away!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (1)
Martin Roy about  GRINDING DISC RED OXIDE:
Jun 4, 2013
Killer grinding disks

Advantages: Last long time
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Martin about  FIBERGLASS MATT 1.5 OUNCE:
Jun 3, 2013
Perfect for my project, thanks again.

Advantages: Easy to wet out
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
aaron wade about  Premium Polyester Resin :
May 3, 2013
first time making a part this stuff worked great
excellent for a first time user.I used a kitchen scale and a cc cup from a medicine bottle.I could not be more pleased with the resin or the tech support I received from F S D
EXCELLANT!!!!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)